Major Life Event Drops Writing off a Cliff

September 27, 2009

There’s a trade-off between productivity and peace of mind. Of course, if you’re getting a lot done, you can enjoy knowing that you’re on top of things. There are times when I have so much energy to spare I can clean the entire house, write for three hours, plan dinner, review my life list, and still find fifteen minutes to work on improving my handwriting. On those days, I feel awesome. There’s a lot to be said for getting a lot done.

Even so, keeping that up for weeks at a time makes my shoulders knotty. Planning to do it, and following through, generally makes me feel accomplished, and even energized, but still: knotty shoulders.

For the past few months, I’ve been working towards one of those Big Life Events that everyone comes together to celebrate and take pictures of, and that lots of us put into fancy albums to take out and cry over every couple years. I intend to do that, by the way. It has taken a lot of planning and effort and (ye gods) money and time, and for the past few weeks, I’ve opted to either do all that, or do nothing at all. This is one of those times that I know I’m falling short in at least one important area, but I’m okay with it because I’ve chosen to sacrifice one important thing for an even more important thing.

I’m getting married.

I’ll see you all again in two-and-a-half to five weeks.

-Linnea

One Response to “Major Life Event Drops Writing off a Cliff”

  1. mybluescreen Says:

    Awww…congratulations! May you have a long and happy marriage.


Leave a Reply

