Web Content for the Crafty

August 28, 2009

A friend of mine launched a small business today. She’s been giving her gorgeous custom frames and greeting cards as gifts for a long time, and finally decided to take everyone’s advice and start selling them. She’s had some website trouble, so I won’t post a link here yet. One of the problems is content: she doesn’t know what to write. When she mentioned that at the launch party, I volunteered to help. I know, I said I didn’t want to be a freelance commercial writer. But this is a friend, and I’m so proud of her for starting a business. It’s a creative business, too!

So I’ll be writing web content again. I’m looking forward to it. I’m sure my friend knows exactly what she wants, and I’m equally sure that if I sit down with her for lunch and get her talking, I’ll know how make it work on paper. Or a computer screen, as it happens.

It’s been a day for writing and the web. I got a call from another friend and sometime client after lunch. He needed a grammar check: should he use “to” or “with” in the tagline? I felt cool. I’m the grammar-checker, yes I am.

Grammar for one friend, content for another, outlines and plans for me… maybe someday I’ll even make money!

In the meantime, this is fun.

Leave a Reply

