Lurching Towards Entropy

July 22, 2009

I’ve been listening to White Oleander by Janet Fitch on CD. It’s done wonders for my vocabulary. A disk or two ago, I heard a flashback scene wherein Astrid’s mother displays her contempt for Christmas each year by reading “The Second Coming,” by W.B. Yeats. So it’s been good for my cultural knowledge, too. I know I’ve read the phrase “slouching towards…” this or that half a dozen times, but never knew that Yeats and this poem was the reference.

I do slouch. Maybe I should have held onto the original verb.

But I like “lurching” for its abruptness and, maybe, a hint of reluctance to be moving at all… at least not in that direction. I drag my feet and then stumble and lurch… going the wrong way, yes, but maybe between lurches I’ll recapture my will and turn around. Lurching is also how zombies move, and I’ve been feeling like one lately. Braindead, with a goal in mind, but sooooo sloooooow in getting there.

I thought entropy meant decline towards chaos, but my engineer fiance disagreed (something about a Rubik’s Cube–I didn’t follow), so I looked it up.

“entropy: The tendency for all matter and energy in the universe to evolve toward a state of inert uniformity.”

That’s exactly my problem. Better turn this around before I get pecked by some indignant desert bird, or squished by an oncoming rough beast.

Leave a Reply

