Happy Writer

July 8, 2009

I’ve read that writers are a depressed lot. We drink. We write horribly sad poems. We’re suicidal. It’s true–my favorite columnist (from ten years ago, 2000 miles from where I live now) said so, and Ray Orrock never steered me wrong. But he was a cheerful guy, and he gave me hope that the life I really, really wanted wouldn’t kill me any sooner than, say, accounting might.

So why not be happy?

I started a project unrelated to writing this week: a Happiness Project. But maybe it’s not unrelated. The idea is to think of things that make you happy, do them every day, and keep track of your progress month by month. If you’re part of a group, you report on your success to them. Familiar, no?

I will be happy. I will tie together happiness and writing and (this is key) accountability. Yay.

4 Responses to “Happy Writer”

  1. xxhawkeyexx Says:

    I want to join!
    It’s a nice idea! 😀

    http://xxhawkeyexx.wordpress.com/

  2. linneawrites Says:

    Go for it! The link on “Project” takes you to my group’s Facebook page. If I’m miles away from you, you can do a solo Happiness Project or start a group where you are (follow the “Happiness” link).

  3. Eileen Orrock Says:

    I was looking up information on my Dad, Ray Orrock, and came across your comment. It’s wonderful and I wish you great success with your happiness project.

    Eileen Orrock

  4. linneawrites Says:

    Eileen,

    It’s great to hear from you! I’m sorry it took me so long to put your comment up; I’ve been on vacation. I really enjoyed your dad’s column. My Happiness Project as an official endeavor got drowned in the countdown to my wedding (almost a year ago!), but the habits I established while I was on it have made a good difference.

    -Linnea


Leave a Reply

