Muse-calling Concluded

June 29, 2009

Saturday

Log in: 8:35 AM
Log out: 9:59 AM
FWC: 278

Sunday

Log in: 9:35 AM
Log out: 10:25 AM
FWC: 1568

Monday

Log in: 8:31 AM
Log out: 9:01 AM
FWC: 1785

…and another “fail” on the 1500 words per day goal. I was significantly late at least three times and early on one day. I cut my time short once, but ran over the half hour several times. Most importantly, I sat down in front of my computer as close to 8:30 AM as I could manage every day for 21 days in a row. Now it feels comfortable. I wake up thinking about Writing Time, and plan my early morning around it. I haven’t quite gotten used to how grouchy I can be for the first ten minutes, but I’m starting to love how happy I am after that.

Happiness is what my change in direction from freelance commercial writitng to fiction was all about, so it might be safe to say that my decision has begun to pay off.

It’s been twelve months since I launched this blog with an announcement of my intention to leave my accounting career and become a writer. Now I can say that I write every day and have kept up a blog for a year (except that I took February off…). Posts here have been regular, three per week, since April. I am certainly a blogger, if not any other kind of writer. There are six months left in this experiment. What should I do with that time? I can probably get something published by the end of the year, even if it’s nothing more than a letter to the editor of my local paper.

Any other ideas, anyone?

Leave a Reply

