Novelling Slowly

June 15, 2009

My fiance follows a handful of personal finance blogs, and one of them is Get Rich Slowly. The guy who runs it started a companion blog not too long ago: Get Fit Slowly. What an awesome set of ideas. Aim for a difficult goal, and then get there slowly.

I would like to have a sweeping victory immediately, but it doesn’t look like I’m going to get that. What I can do is try five or ten different methods for getting a novel written, drop the ones that don’t work, tweak those that might work, and stick with the ones that work really well. Thus far I have had one success, tweaked it anyway, failed, and now I’m on Experiment #2. I’m hoping my methods will improve as much as my writing.

The one-year anniversary of this blog is coming up in two weeks. It’s been an eventful year–lots of changes. As I was paging throught the archives, I realized that I set 8:00 AM as my official start time… and I was aiming for 8:30 all last week. Ah well; I’ll stick with 8:30 now. A word about the Fiction Word Count: I like seeing it build over the course of a week, but I feel like I’d be padding it if I kept adding to it after my writing week ends. I’m going to reset the meter on Friday nights.

Saturday

Log in: 8:39
Log out: 9:03
FWC: 316

Sunday

Log in: 8:29
Log out: 8:43
Log in: 9:08
Log out: 9:34
FWC: 757

Monday

Log in: 8:32
Log out: 9:04
FWC: 779

Notice that my weekend off disappeared. Lanny Bassham is responsible for this. I’m hoping 21 days without a break really will be enough.

2 Responses to “Novelling Slowly”


  1. […] to Lanny Bassham (I’ve mentioned him), I have three days to go. So I’ll have one more update for you on Monday, and a stronger […]


  2. […] I’ll just be twiddling my thumbs here, and you might get bored. Also, since I’m doing Bassham’s Mental Management Lite, one week should do it for my […]


Leave a Reply

