The Secret is Out

October 24, 2008

The meeting went well. My boss didn’t seem happy to be losing me, but we discussed the details of my departure amiably. For now, I can take long lunches to meet with clients or mentors as needed. After Thanksgiving, he’s willing to shorten my workday. He wants six weeks notice, which I will give no later than February 16th. I estimate that I can tie up my loose ends about two months, but I haven’t committed myself to that.

I have official sanction for writing the training manual for my position, and another department has requested two employee handbooks and a brochure. Yes! Portfolio pieces! Other coworkers have given me the business cards of people who might be helpful, and one guy was excited to learn that I would be available as a writing coach for his teenager.

This has been way cooler than I feared.

2 Responses to “The Secret is Out”

  1. Pete Says:

    That’s awesome. Glad to hear that it went so well. You deserve it and you are going to ROCK as a pro writer.

  2. linneawrites Says:

    Thanks for the support, Pete. 🙂


Leave a Reply

