Big Step Tomorrow

October 22, 2008

Tomorrow is the day I tell my boss that I won’t be around this time next year. This has brought on some anxiety. I intend to walk into my boss’s office and say, “I’m leaving to start a new career, but not just yet. I want to make this as painless as possible for both of us. Here’s what I’d like to do…” and then ask for Mondays off and talk with him about the training manual.

How do I say this? I’m the writer; coming up with something good shouldn’t be too hard… and it isn’t, but anticipating his reaction is not good for my concentration.

The best I can do is to keep the few points I want to discuss in mind, and aggressively highlight the ways in which this (admittedly difficult) situation can be good for him and the organization.

And remember to breathe.

Leave a Reply

